St. Peter’s outplay Joes
St. Peter's - 21
St. Joseph's - 11

By M. Shamil Amit
St. Peter’s retained the Rev Fr Basil Wiratunge memorial shield when they outplayed St. Joseph’s by 21 points (1 goal, 1 penalty goal, 3 penalties) to 11 (1 try, 2 penalties) in their annual rugby encounter played at Longdon Place yesterday. At the breather the winners led 14-6.

The Petes got into the act in the second minute of the game with an under the post penalty put over by full back Mohamed Sheriff and in the very next minute booted another penalty to give them a 6-0 lead. But the Joes decreased the lead two minutes later with a penalty put over by fly half Priyantha Pradeep.

Five minutes later the Joes equalised through another penalty from Priyantha’s boot. With a ding-dong battle ensuing Pete skipper and center Rumaiz Ishaq planted the first try of the match which went unconverted. Which was followed by a penalty put over by Sherrif with which the short whistle was blown.

Resuming in the second half with frayed tempers being exchanged the Peterites were awarded a penalty goal for rough play and the Josephians making a final bid succeeded in the last time through a try scored by scrum half Priyan Fransisco but it was too late to save them from losing the game. Referee D. Nimal.

26th Asian Junior Chess Championships
India’s Mageesh and Prathiba clinch titles
Indians Mageesh Chandran with 8.0 points and Y. Prathiba with 9.0 points emerged the boys and girls champions at the 26th Asian Junior Chess Championships concluded at the Camelot Beach Hotel in Negombo.

The championship which began on July 19 (Saturday) and organized by the Sri Lanka Chess Federation was a successful event with the participation of ten countries which comprised of 62 players. Taamara de Silva a student of Ananda College with 6.5 points and Yasodha Methmalee a student of Southlands College Galle finished on top among the Sri Lankans.

Taamara did proud when he was equal eight and shows great promise for the future. Yasodha who finished with an equal eleventh place is due to represent Sri Lanka at the forthcoming World Youth Championship scheduled to be held in Greece later this year.

The Indians dominated the finish when the top four players in the boys category and the top five in the girls category coming from this country. But the reigning champions in both the boys (Deepan Chakravarthy) and girls (Tania Sachdev) category failed to live up to expectations, with Tania being unable to secure a place in the top ten. After the completion of the award ceremony there was an exhibition given by Hikaru Nakamura a US citizen who played against 24 players.

The final placings:
(Boys) 1. Mageesh Chandran (Ind), 2. Poobesh Anand (Ind), 3. Prathmesh Mokal (Ind), 4. Deepan Chakravarthy (Ind). 5. Ngyuyen Ngoc Truong (Viet). 6. Khamzim Olzhas (Khaz). 7. Arun Prasad (Ind). 8. Taamara de Silva (Sri). 9. Akshayraj Kore (Ind). 10. Abhijit Gupta (Ind).

(Girls) 1. Y. Ptahiba (Ind). 2. J.E. Kavitha (India). 3. Saheli Nath (India). 4. J. Rajasuriyar (India). 5. Kuru Nadig (India). 6. Luong Phong Hanh (Vietnam). 7. Mahima Rajmohan (India). 8. Mary Ann Gomes (India). 9. Harika Dronavalli (India). 10. N. Vinuthna (India).-MSA

Back to Top  Back to Sports  

Copyright © 2001 Wijeya Newspapers Ltd. All rights reserved.
Contact us: | Editorial | | Webmaster|