ISSN: 1391 - 0531
Sunday, January 14, 2007
Vol. 41 - No 33

Mahanama take Black and Gold trophy

By M.Shamil Amit

Mahanama College Colombo took the ‘Black and Gold’ trophy by virtue of a first innings win they gained against D.S.Senanayake Vidyalaya in their inaugural encounter concluded at the R. Premadasa Stadium yesterday. They succeeded to defend their low score of 157 by bowling out their opponents for 151.

DS Senanayake Vidyalaya batsman Lahiru Weragala who top scored with 65 is trapped in front by Mahanama College off-spinner Shehan Daminda (not in picture). Pic by Ranjith Perera

D.S.Senanayake were the fancied team and they had to blame themselves for the poor batting display by their top order batsmen. When play resumed yesterday morning DSS were well placed on 61 for 2 but the middle order batting failed to deliver the goods.

Despite a knock of 65 by overnight batsman Lahiru Weragala they fell short of the target by six runs and thus failed to get past Mahanama’s total. Weragala’s knock consisted of eight hits to the ropes while pacie Hasitha de Silva with figures of 3 for 37 along with spinner Shehan Duminda who took two wickets to cause the damage.

The first day’s play saw Mahanama sent into bat and being restricted to 157. It was due to the gallant batting by skipper Milinda Perera who hit a half ton which enabled them to reach this respectable score.

DSS pacie Charith Jayampathy made the early break through while spinners Roshane Laksiri and Dimuthu Samarakkody took control of the Mahanama inning in the latter stages.

With DSS being bowled out just before lunch, an outright win was way beyond their reach with two more sessions of play remaining. Mahanama having taken control of the game in the morning session, had only to hold on which they did successfully in their second innings by ending the day on 127 for 8.

Mahanama 157 (Milinda Perera 56, Anura Prasad 18, Hasitha de Silva 17; Charith Jayampathy 3 for 22, Dimuthu Samarakkody 2 for 31, Roshane Laksiri 2 for 33) and 127 for 8 (Ramidu Jayatissa 28, Anura Prasad 21, Sachith Ruberu 34 n.o; Roshan Laksiri 4 for 29, Madhawa Perera 2 for 26)

DSS (61/2 o’night) 151 (Lahiru Weragala 65, Isuru Udana 15.; Hasitha de Silva 3 for 37, Shehan Duminda 2 for 12)

Top to the page

Copyright 2007 Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka.