ISSN: 1391 - 0531
Sunday, February 18, 2007
Vol. 41 - No 38

Blind take the crease on Feb 19

By Bernie Wijesekera

The 2006/2007 cricket tournament for visually handicapped cricketers will commence on 19th February and continue until 23rd February 7 at the Nationalised Sports Services Association, Ratmalana commencing at 9.30 a.m.

Ten teams divided into two groups will play on a league basis. The first two teams in each group will clash in the semi-finals and the winners of the semis will play off in the final. Group A consists of Ceylon Electrical Plastic Industries, Blind School, Moneragala, Everest SC, Blind School Paludeniya and Seeduwa Combined. Group B comprises Ranaviru Sevana, Rajara Rata Disabled Youth Sports Society, School for the Blind, Ratmalana , Sri Lanka Federation of the Visually Handicapped Youth Wing and Senehasa SC, Tangalle.

The winners will receive the handsome Dilmah Challenge Trophy and the MJF Charitable Trust is sponsoring the tournament.

Top to the page

Copyright 2007 Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka.