ISSN: 1391 - 0531
Sunday, March 04, 2007
Vol. 41 - No 40
Kandy Times

Not an easy task for Vidyartha - Vidyartha -St.Sylvester’s 49th encounter

By Aubrey Kuruppu

Vidyartha which is experiencing a lean season has a mountain to climb when they take on the strong St. Sylvester’s side in their 49th Big Match at the Asgiriya Stadium on 15th and 16th March.

The Sylvestarians have beaten Ananda Sastralaya Kotte, St. Thomas’ Matale, Sumangala MV Kandy and Zahira. Vidyartha have not won any games but lost to St. Annes and Kalutara Vidyalaya.

Skipper Rajitha Wickremaarachchi is the leading run-getter with 780 runs, inclusive of 3 centuries and 8 fifties. A left hander, Wickremaarachchi is a very accomplished batsman and stumper. Last year’s skipper Ravi Karunaratne has 80 wickets to go with his over 600 runs.

Under 19 Sri Lanka player Mohamed Feshal had a hundred against Thurstan plus 3 fifties. His tally is almost 600. left arm spinner Chanaka Silva has 41wickets and over 400 runs. He is a key player. Chanaka Ranaweera the opening bowler has picked up almost 70 wickets and scored over 350 runs. Roshan Jayatissa is one of the leading all rounders with his correct batting and tidy off spin.

Maduka Weerasekera, a front-line batsman with a century to his credit, leads Vidyartha. He will depend heavily on last year’s captain Dilan Senanayake – a left arm spinner and accomplished batsman.

Nadun Basnayake, a left arm spinner, is one of the more dependable players in the side. He bats usefully in the middle order. Right hander Udara Wijeratne who has scored hundreds against the Matale Thomians and Mahanama will be the batsman whom the opponents will target.

Lanky Dilina Kaushalya and Wijekoon open the bowling. The former has been moderately successful. Theekshana Wedagedera is a useful bat and the stumper of the side. Lakmal and J. Dissanaike open the batting. Weerakoon will provide spin support.

Last years, Vidyartha were on the brink of taking a first innings lead when the heavens opened up. That effort should give them confidence to tackle the Syslvestarians.

St. Sylvesters (from) – Rajitha Wickremaarachchi (Capt.), Chanaka Silva, Ravi Karunaratne, Chanaka Ranaweera, Mohamed Feshal, Nuski Mohamed, Roshan Jayatissa, Yasira Chanuka, Chanaka Colombage, Saman Ambilimeegama, Nuwan Vilantha, Nuwan Silva, Kasun Alwis. (Coach – Tudor Gunaratne).

Vidyartha (from) – Maduka Weerasekera (Capt.), Nadun Basnayake, Dilan Senanayake, Udara Wijeratne, Dilina Kaushalya, Theekshana Wedagedera, Sameera Lakmal, M. Wijekoon, S. Weerakoon, C. Dissanaike, J. Dissanaike, Aravinda de Silva, S. Srimal.
(Coach – Priyantha Weragoda).

Top to the page

Copyright 2007 Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka.