• Last Update 2023-03-22 18:17:00

CC Approves two members to JSC


The Constitutional Council had approved two appointments of the Judicial Service Commission.

Accordingly the Council  which met on Tuesday  presided by Mahinda Yapa Abeywardana, the Speaker and the Chairman of the Constitutional Council unanimously approved the recommendations of the President to re-appoint Justice Buwaneka Aluvihare and to appoint Jutice E. A. G. R. Amarasekara, as Members of the Judicial Service Commission.

The Constitutional Council further decided to publish the advertisement calling for applications for the appointment of Members to the Commissions specified in Schedule to Article 41B of the Constitution, on newspapers of this weekend to give a wider publicity and accordingly, the previously published advertisement will be re-published on the newspapers of Sunday.

Prime Minister, Dinesh Gunawardena, Leader of the Opposition, Sajith Premadasa, , Minister Nimal Siripala de Silva and other Members of the Council who are not Members of Parliament   Dr. Prathap Ramanujam, Dr. Dilkushi Anula Wijesundere and Dr. Dinesha Samararatne were present at the Council meeting held.

MPs Sagara Kariyawasam, and Kabir Hashim had informed their inability to attend the meeting due to unavoidable circumstances.

You can share this post!

  • Still No Comments Posted.

Leave Comments