St Peter's balanced and experienced
By Shamseer Jaleel
St Peter's College Bambalapitiya cricket team for 2003-2004 is a well-balanced side with youth and experience. They have no less than seven cloursmen in the squad. The Peterites have already played four games and they are one of the sides to be watched as they will be eyeing the Lemonade Trophy in the league segment. They started the season with a bang when they outclassed Sri Sumangala Panadura by an innings and 170 runs.

The lads from Bampalapitiya continued their good form when they beat Maris Stella by innings and followed it up with wins against Kingswood and Thurstan on first innings.
The side is led by 5th year player Gihan De Silva who bats at number 4 and he is also the stumper of the side. He scored 765 runs with 2 hundreds and 8 fifties and also had more than 50 victims behind the stumps last season. This small made player got the international exposure at the age of 14 years.

He was selected to the national side for the Asia Cup held in Malaysia and the World Cup held in England. Gihan also toured Bangladesh for the under 17 Asia Cup, played a major role in the Tri Nation and the recently concluded Pakistan tour to Sri Lanka.

He was judged as the runner up in the best fielder category for the year 2001/2002 and 2002/2003. His deputy will be Prajeev Jansz who is a 4th year player who opens the batting for the side, scored more than 450 runs with 4 fifties last season. Hans Fernando who is a consistent performer scored 565 runs and took 24 wickets last season. He hit the De Mazenod bowlers all over the park with an elegant 110. He bats at number 3 and is the first change bowler of the side.

The Peterite side is blessed with one of the best spinners in the school this season.
He is none other than Umhar Samsudeen who has already taken two 5- wicket hauls is a dangerous customer who has foxed some top order batsmen.

The Squad: Prajeev Jansze, Lahiru Peiris, Tharindu Denipitiya, Dasun Randhika, Krishal Magage, Dinesh Panditharatne, Heshan Nanayakkara, Umhar Samsudeen, Muditha Chinthaka, Shehan Wijethunga, Hans Fernando, Gihan De Silva (Capt), Shohan Boralessa, Shanaka Wickramasekera and Chanaka Fernando.

Back to Top  Back to Sports  

Copyright © 2001 Wijeya Newspapers Ltd. All rights reserved.
Contact us: | Editorial | | Webmaster|