• Last Update 2023-09-27 20:37:00

Lakshman Yapa, Charles and Senthil get Governor posts


President Ranil Wickremesinghe has appointed three new Provincial Governors today (May 17), said the President’s Media Division.

Former Minister Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena will fill the position held by former Navy Chief Wasantha Karannagoda. 

Mrs. Charles, who also served as a former Governor of Northern Province is re-appointed replacing Jeevan Thiagarajah.

Leader of the Ceylon Workers Congress Senthil Thondaman will hold the position of Governor of Eastern Province vacant following the removal of former Eastern Province Governor Anuradha Yahampath.

On Monday, the President’s Office announced that President Wickremesinghe has decided to remove Karannagoda, Thiagarajah and Yahampath from their posts with immediate effect. 

Three newly appointed Governors were sworn in before President Ranil Wickramasinghe at the
Presidential Secretariat today as well. 

You can share this post!

  • Still No Comments Posted.

Leave Comments