• Last Update 2022-12-03 08:55:00

Cricket: Sri Lanka names squad for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup


The Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) Selection Committee released the final squad that will take part in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022.

Dasun Shanaka will continue to lead the Sri Lanka Men’s T20 side at the ultimate global showdown of the shortest version of cricket that will take place in Australia from October 16 to November 13.

Virtually almost all members who represented the country at the recently concluded ACC Asia Cup 2022, where Sri Lanka emerged as champions, are in the side except for Dinesh Chandimal, who has been named as a standby player.

Kusal Mendis and Bhanuka Rajapaksa have been named as wicketkeeper/batters.

Pacemen Dushmantha Chameera and Lahiru Kumara have made their cut to the final squad of 15, but their availability will be subject to fitness as both are recovering from injuries.

Besides Chandimal, Ashen Bandara, Praveen Jayawickrema, Binura Fernando and Nuwanidu Fernando have been listed as standbys.

However Bandara and Jayawickrama will travel with the team, according to new regulations.

Sri Lanka T20 Squad: Dasun Shanaka (Captain), Danushka Gunathilaka, Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dhananjaya de Silva, Wanindu Hasaranga, Maheesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Kumara, Dilshan Madushanka, Promod Madushan

Standby Players: Ashen Bandara, Praveen Jayawickrema, Dinesh Chandimal, Binura Fernando, Nuwanidu Fernando

You can share this post!

  • Still No Comments Posted.

Leave Comments