SLMA honours women doctors

For the first time in its 125-year history, the Sri Lanka Medical Association honoured 15 women doctors, who have made an enormous contribution not only for the benefit of Sri Lankans but also the world, at a simple ceremony held at the SLMA auditorium on International Women’s Day last Thursday.

Special awardee: Prof. Priyani Soysa receiving her award from Chief Guest Prof. Lalitha Mendis as Dr. Vajira Dissanayake looks on

The ‘Outstanding Health Professional Awards 2012’ were presented to Dr. Selvi Perera, Prof. Dulitha Fernando, Dr. Malani De Silva, Prof. Leela De A. Karunarathne, Dr. Maya Atapattu, Dr. Nalini Withana, Dr. C. D. Jayaweera Bandara, Dr. Stella De Silva, Prof. Priyani Soysa, Prof. Anoja Fernando, Prof. Gita Fernando, Dr. Suriyakanthi Amarasekara, Prof. Lalitha Mendis. Dr. Premini Amerasinghe and Dr. U. Weerasinghe. There was a special felicitation for Prof. Priyani Soysa.

Top to the page  |  E-mail  |  views[1]
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend
Other Plus Articles
Rediscovering the tomb of our last king
A chance meeting, a labour of love and a gigantic Samadhi Buddha
Letters to the Editor
Why cricket unites, but politics unties!
Reaching out to the unreached
SLMA honours women doctors
Olivia Newton-John comes to Colombo on her ‘Asia 2012’ tour
Galle comes alive with different sounds of music
Another blooming triumph for Borneo Exotics
“I have never bribed man, I have never bribed God”
Time to up the ante in the concert hall
A classical reunion
Something old, something new but something similar too
People and events
Putting pen to paper
When the Bayou Mansions came alive


Reproduction of articles permitted when used without any alterations to contents and a link to the source page.
© Copyright 1996 - 2012 | Wijeya Newspapers Ltd.Colombo. Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved | Site best viewed in IE ver 8.0 @ 1024 x 768 resolution